South Park’s proposed extra community-center hours in jeopardy?

Just shared on the South Park Yahoo! mailing list – a note from the mayor to at least one concerned resident. The proposed extra hours at several community centers including South Park may not make it into the final budget, and if you’re interested in sharing your opinion on that with the City Council before their decision, the time, the mayor’s note says, is NOW:

My proposed budget includes $276,000 to add hours at Ballard, Delridge, Miller, Northgate, South Park, Van Asselt, and Yesler Community Centers. Each center is proposed to be open for 10 additional hours after school and late at night in order to serve young people. These seven centers were chosen by a data-driven analysis that included crime statistics and existing partnerships with the Seattle Youth Violence Prevention Initiative.

The City Council is currently considering a reduction to the proposed additional funding of over 35% and delaying spending any remaining funds until further study and discussions can occur next year.

The Council will be discussing these changes on Wednesday and voting on Friday. Please take a moment to contact Councilmembers to share your views on the importance of not reducing or holding up this funding targeted at providing youth in at-risk areas with a safe place to go. Council is offering public comment in Council Chambers at City Hall at the following times:

Wednesday, November 7 at 9:30 a.m.
Friday, November 9 at 9:30 a.m.

If you are unable to attend, contact information is below:

Budget Chair Tim Burgess: email tim.burgess@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8806.
Council President Sally Clark: email sally.clark@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8802.
Councilmember Sally Bagshaw: email sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8801.
Councilmember Richard Conlin: email richard.conlin@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8805.
Councilmember Jean Godden: email jean.godden@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8807.
Councilmember Bruce Harrell: email bruce.harrell@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8804.
Councilmember Nick Licata: email nick.licata@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8803.
Councilmember Mike O’Brien: email mike.obrien@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8800.
Councilmember Tom Rasmussen: email tom.rasmussen@seattle.gov or call (206) 684-8808.

Comments are closed